Installing GlassFish on OpenSolaris 2008.05

Posted on December 3, 2008. Filed under: Open Solaris |

Today, I tried installing SqueezeCenter and Tomcat. Both failed, and until now, I haven’t found a solution. I did, however, find a workaround for the Tomcat installation.

Probably I can install Tomcat by downloading it from the Tomcat site, unpack it, and run it, but I don’t want to do this: I’d rather use the OpenSolaris packaging system. However, it seems there isn’t a package available for Tomcat. Atleast, I haven’t found it. So, my initial thought was to install JBoss instead. I’ve good experiences with JBoss, and for me, JBoss is a good replacement (or superset) for Tomcat. However, I also couldn’t find a proper download for this. So, why not install GlassFish then?

I’ve never worked with GlassFish before, but installing and configuring wasn’t a problem at all. I just followed the instructions I found here, and did the following steps:

1) pkg set-authority -O http://pkg.opensolaris.org:80 opensolaris.org
2) pkg refresh
3) pkg install glassfishv2
4) Then run the command to create a default domain1

/usr/appserver/bin/asadmin create-domain –user admin –adminport 4848 domain1

During the creation of new domain
a)type (typical default) admin password : adminadmin
b)type (typical default) master password : changeit

5) Then run the command to start the newly created default domain1
/usr/appserver/bin/asadmin start-domain –user admin domain1

6) Now you should be able to access the GlassFishv2 on OpenSolaris

GlassFish Admin Console
http://hostname_or_ip_address:4848

GlassFish HTTP
http://hostname_or_ip_address:8080
https://hostname_or_ip_address:8181

And it all worked. I love when things just work!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Installing GlassFish on OpenSolaris 2008.05”

RSS Feed for Don’t mind the language Comments RSS Feed

nice to see this beautiful note. I was struggling with “domain1” problem, which I think should get resolved now. I have stumbuled upon this note while looking for jboss installation on opensolaris.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

