Converting Groovy Objects to JSON using Grails

Posted on February 14, 2009. Filed under: Grails, Groovy, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Disclaimer: this might not be the best way to do it. I’m open for improvements, but it’s a way I’m using now, and it works pretty nice!

Currenly, I’m creating an application which does some JSON communication. Since Grails already has nice support for JSON, I wanted to reuse their libraries, but, at the moment, I don’t need a complete web Grails application. So, the plan was to reuse the JSON (deep) converters to convert my Groovy classes to JSON, and work with that. I created the following small test to try to accomplish what I wanted:


import grails.converters.JSON

class Person {
String name = "erik"
int age = 10
}

println new JSON(new Person()).toString()

Well, I don’t think I’d be writing this blog entry if things were really this easy. Executing the above code fails with a nasty NullPointerException:

Caught: org.apache.commons.lang.UnhandledException: java.lang.NullPointerException
	at testjson.run(testjson.groovy:10)
	at testjson.main(testjson.groovy)

Why is this, you might ask. Well, it turns out the JSON converter is using a ConverterUtil class, which expects a GrailsApplication. When there’s no GrailsApplication, the code will fail with a NPE as a result. If you’d like to see this fixed: I’ve created a JIRA issue here.

However, I did came up with a workaround. It’s not perfect, but it works. Since the ConvertUtil is a sort of Singleton, you call it yourself, and set a DummyGrailsApplication instead. Well, instead of the dummy version, we can use a DefaultGrailsApplication instead. So, after our fix, the code looks like this:


import grails.converters.JSON
import org.codehaus.groovy.grails.commons.DefaultGrailsApplication
import org.codehaus.groovy.grails.web.converters.ConverterUtil

class Person {
String name = "erik"
int age = 10
}
ConverterUtil.getInstance().grailsApplication = new DefaultGrailsApplication()
println new JSON(new Person()).toString()

When running this, the following output is produced:

{"age":10,"class":"Person","name":"erik"}

Which is exactly what we want!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Converting Groovy Objects to JSON using Grails”

RSS Feed for Don’t mind the language Comments RSS Feed

Hi Uysal,

Thanks for the link! I already found it yesterday, and I’m looking into it right now.

Here is a snippet that you can use from a controller to output a JSON version of person.

I used this technique in one of my apps. It might work for your need.

render person.encodeAsJSON()

Hi Jim,

Thanks for the reply! However, I’m not developing an Grails application, I’m only using it’s libraries. The encodeAsXXX codecs are injected on startup of the Grails application. This is therefore not applicable to my application (though I can inject them myself ofcourse).


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

