The First NLGUG Meetup

Posted on May 16, 2009. Filed under: NLGUG | Tags: , , , , |

On the 7th of May, we had our first NLGUG Groovy an Grails meetup. In one word: it was great!

Normally, when I organize something (be it a motorcycling event, going to the movies, or anything else), of all the people who said ‘yes’, 30% will show up (that is, if I’m lucky). Since 12 people expressed that they would attend the first meetup, I expected a group no bigger than 5 people to show up. You can imagine my surprise when out of 12 people, 18 showed up! That’s 150% more than you might have expected, and 500% more than I expected!

The event was kindly hosted by Lunatech Research BV, a small company in Rotterdam, who wanted to impress us with their office and hospitality. That succeeded greatly in that! The office was great, and the snacks where snacks++ ! Really well done, again: thanks for hosting the event!

The plan was to have 2 small sessions (of around 50 minutes each), drink some beer, get to know each other a little, etc. I think it worked out pretty well. We started with a introduction round, and it became apparent quite quickly that not a lot of people really (that is: in production) something with Groovy and Grails. Out of 18 people, only 2 people had real life experience with Grails. While I certainly hope this will increase, this is a really nice baseline. There were quite some members who had something in the pipeline, but nothing to concrete yet.
After our round of introduction, I had a small talk about how Flex, Grails and JMS could be combined into a small chat application. I thought it was a nice application, but due to time constraints, my presentation could have been better… Well, hopefully I’ll have some more preparation time next time!
The second presentation, which was presented by Michel Vollebregt, was great! The presentation described how to use Groovy DSLs, and was a great combination of combining Java + Groovy to create a very readable (at least: from a user perspective) language to calculate savings over the years. A really nice presentation with live coding, which deserves a lot of extra credits, IMO.

All in all, I think the whole evening was great. I’ve met a lot of new people who were all equally enthousiastic about G&G, and I heard a lot of great feedback about the evening. I think it was a big succes, and I’m looking forward to our next meetup in a month or two, which will be hosted by VX company this time. Great work guys!!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

